subscribe newsletter

The Spirit of Science –
The Energy for Leadership

With science in the genes for the needs of industrial companies. Functionality is at the heart of this unique model, which overcomes existing boundaries between science and business, theory and practice, research and application. The dynamics of new ways of thinking inspire scientists as well as practitioners to innovative solutions.

40 Years of
Innovation Culture

Already in 1980 the Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik mbH was founded by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Kurt Lange – as an engineering partner for industrial companies with issues relating to metal forming technology. The close contacts to users on the one hand create the best conditions for the further development of current research results close to industry, while at the same time the needs of the companies generate important impulses for new research approaches.

The intensive cooperation and networking with the Institute for Metal Forming Technology at the University of Stuttgart under the direction of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Mathias Liewald MBA, is still unique today. Within the framework of research cooperations, working groups and project assignments, scientific research can be transferred into industrial practice. This is exactly what creates the advantage and success for our customers.

HEADS & BRAINS

Only the will to go one step further and the conviction that more than what has been achieved so far is possible can turn a vision into reality. This is exactly what distinguishes our team:

PARTNER FOR INDUSTRY,
COOPERATION TO MEASURE

With our services, we support metalworking companies with special requests as well as companies whose core business is different but who are facing a forming challenge. Our partners are classical small and medium-sized companies as well as large corporations.

vw_logo

Sometimes clear words say more

Customer satisfaction at the highest level – that is our claim

General Contractor –
Complete Solution from One Source

Our holistic approach and the direct proximity to research and science are the requirements for a unique form of cooperation: We offer you the complete solution for every type of forming application throughout the entire process – from process analysis and material characterization to series production readiness!

With access to extensive modern equipment, our wide-ranging know-how and many years of experience in the fields of material characterization, forming simulation, shearing and modern forming processes, we develop the optimum solution for every requirement. In close cooperation with selected partners, we develop and design tools and prototypes.
Even in complex processes, we remain the responsible contact partner for you in the form of a general contractor.

DIPL.-ING. CHRISTIAN HELD
Technical Manager FGU

Email: held@fgu-mbh.de
Tel: +49 711 93300787

INNOVATIVE SERVICES FOR INDIVIDUAL SOLUTIONS

With the ambition to help shape progress, we offer a wide range of services in all areas of metal forming technology, always state-of-the-art.
The access to the extensive equipment is unique, modern software programmes are self-evident and individual customization is our particular strength. With our experience and competent partners, we are able to offer you a complete package from one source. Of course, we also support you with individual solutions for your projects.

Consulting with an Eye
for Correlations

Valuable experience from sheet and bulk metal forming also flows into our consulting services. In many cases, the focus is on strategic issues within the company in order to fully exploit its own potential.
These are in particular:

STEFAN LEYH, M.SC.
Deputy Technical Director,
Order and Project Management


Email: leyh@fgu-mbh.de

Tel.: +49 711 226 38 72

PRODUCTS MADE BY FGU

Access to research also puts us ahead when it comes to developing innovative products. This enables us to incorporate the latest IFU research results directly into our product development and to utilize the state-of-the-art for concrete applications with our industrial partners.

In metal forming technology, tribology plays an important role, since relative movement between workpiece, lubrication and tool occurs during the forming process. Detailed knowledge of the tribological system is required for both the simulative component design and the subsequent production process in order to achieve the desired quality and robustness. However, the design of components is usually based on highly simplified models in order to avoid the high testing costs associated with expensive, large, slow and immobile test benches.

SMARTµ is an innovative friction measurement device developed by FGU combining a well-known test arrangement with current technology and a new calculation principle. Acceleration measurements, which are recorded when slipping over an inclined plane, form the basis for determining the coefficients of friction – speed and surface pressure are decisive. This reduces the experimental effort to a minimum and eliminates the need for large, expensive test facilities. SMARTµ is also characterized by its innovative, wireless operation: The instructions are given step by step via app in order to determine coefficients of friction in a quick, simple and mobile way.

Stay up-to-date and subscribe to our newsletter or contact us directly to find out about the current state of development.

Susceptibility to process disturbances is one of the major challenges in deep drawing, especially with more complex geometries. Besides the difficulty of a small process window for tool tryout, fluctuations in the material properties of the sheet material used often lead to process deviations and result in high rejects. With the aim of compensating for such fluctuations, there are some approaches to process control which, however, all do not intervene in the forming process itself during a press stroke. Thus, a component being processed always runs the risk of exceeding the tolerated values and showing component faults such as tears, wrinkles or surface defects.

In this context and with the knowledge of the problems in practice, the Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik is developing a new, innovative approach for closed-loop control in direct cooperation with the Institute for Metal Forming Technology at the University of Stuttgart. The uniqueness of this product innovation consists in the fact that the material flow of the sheet metal or the blank feed can be directly influenced. Here, the innovation is that for the first time, the controlled variable is not the blank feed, but is defined via sensor signals measured directly in the component area. Closed-loop control is made possible by a variable force shunt that ensures controllable surface pressure between component and die during the press stroke. As a result of this direct intervention during the press stroke, the process is more robust, rejects are lower and component quality is higher than previously possible.

Apart from that, the innovative control system is to be distinguished by a further feature for practical application: As a modular system that can be integrated into existing processes and tools, the process control system offers enormous optimization potential in order to increase sustainable production and thus profitability.

Stay up-to-date and subscribe to our newsletter or contact us directly to find out about the current state of development.

TRAINING AND QUALIFICATION FOR YOUNG PROFESSIONALS, CAREER CHANGERS AND ADVANCERS

As a partner for industrial companies, the Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik offers the FormImpulse® seminar series, a complete training programme for quick introduction, a good overview of metal forming technology and the deepening of expert knowledge. However, the holistic approach goes beyond this: with training seminars and coaching in interdisciplinary areas, competence on three pillars is demonstrated in the training measures:

Strong with Strong Partners

The Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik, with its unique proximity to the university institute, aims to help shape the market and the future when it comes to challenges in metal forming technology. In doing so, we have recognized that in cooperation with selected partners and their competencies, we can increase the level of performance and also the range of services for our customers. 

With great respect for the know-how, expertise and quality of our partners, we are able to offer complete solutions even for complex requirements. Fair dealing, openness to new impulses and a passion for new paths are the requirements for this type of cooperation.
This is a great benefit to us and, of course, above all to our customers.

Our trusted partners:

FMF WWF, CTK CAD und MEN AT WORK

CONTACT

Forschungsgesellschaft
Umformtechnik mbH
Holzgartenstraße 17
70174 Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 (0) 711 / 226 41 25
Fax: +49 (0) 711 / 226 41 41
Email: info@fgu-mbh.de

newsletter abonnieren

The Spirit of Science –
The Energy for Leadership

Mit Wissenschaft in den Genen für die Bedürfnisse im Industriebetrieb. Funktionalität steht im Mittelpunkt in diesem einzigartigen Modell, ​das bisherige Grenzen von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, von Theorie und Praxis, von Forschung und Anwendung aufhebt. Die Dynamik von neuen Denkweisen inspiriert den Wissenschaftler wie den Praktiker zu innovativen Lösungen.

Innovationskultur
seit 40 Jahren

Bereits 1980 wurde die Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik mbH von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Kurt Lange gegründet – als Engineering-Partner für Industrieunternehmen mit umformtechnischen Fragestellungen. Die engen Kontakte zu Anwendern schaffen einerseits beste Voraussetzungen, um aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse industrienah weiterzuentwickeln, gleichzeitig ergeben sich aus den Bedürfnissen in den Unternehmen wichtige Impulse für neue Forschungsansätze.

Die intensive Kooperation und Vernetzung mit dem Institut für Umformtechnik der Universität Stuttgart, unter der Leitung von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ing.Dr. h.c. Mathias Liewald MBA, ist bis heute einzigartig. Im Rahmen von Forschungskooperationen, Arbeitskreisen und Projekt-aufträgen kann wissenschaftliche Forschung in industrielle Praxis überführt werden. Genau das macht den Vorteil und den Erfolg für unsere Kunden aus.

HEADS & BRAINS

Erst der Wille, immer noch ein Stück weiterzugehen, und die Überzeugung, dass mehr als das bisher Erreichte möglich ist, machen Realität aus einer Vision. Genau das zeichnet unser Team aus:

PARTNER FÜR INDUSTRIE,
KOOPERATION NACH MAß

Mit unseren Dienstleistungen unterstützen wir Unternehmen aus der Metallverarbeitung mit speziellen Anfragen ebenso wie Firmen, deren Kerngeschäft ein anderes ist, welche aber vor einer umformtechnischen Herausforderung stehen. Dabei zählen unsere Partner sowohl zum klassischen Mittelstand als auch zu Konzernen.

vw_logo

Klare Worte sagen
manchmal doch mehr

Kundenzufriedenheit auf höchstem Niveau – das ist unser Anspruch

GENERALUNTERNEHMERSCHAFT –
KOMPLETTLÖSUNG AUS EINER HAND

Unsere ganzheitliche Herangehensweise und die direkte Nähe zu Forschung und Wissenschaft sind die Voraussetzungen für eine einzigartige Form der Zusammenarbeit: Wir bieten Ihnen für jeden umformtechnischen Anwendungsfall über den gesamten Prozess die komplette Lösung – von der Prozessanalyse und Materialcharakterisierung bis zur Serienreife!

Mit dem Zugriff auf umfangreiches modernes Equipment, unserem breitgefächerten Know-how und der langjährigen Erfahrung aus den Bereichen Materialcharakterisierung, Umformsimulation, Scherschneiden und moderne Umformprozesse entwickeln wir für jedes Anliegen die optimale Lösung. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Partnern erfolgt die Werkzeugentwicklung und -konstruktion sowie der Prototypen-Aufbau.

Dabei bleiben wir auch in den komplexen Prozessen der verantwortliche  Ansprechpartner in Form einer Generalunternehmerschaft für Sie.

DIPL.-ING. CHRISTIAN HELD
Technischer Leiter / Prokurist

E-Mail: held@fgu-mbh.de
Telefonnummer: 0711 2293240

INNOVATIVE LEISTUNGEN FÜR INDIVIDUELLE LÖSUNGEN

Mit dem Anspruch, den Fortschritt mitzugestalten, bieten wir ein breitgefächertes Spektrum an Dienstleistungen in sämtlichen umformtechnischen Bereichen, immer auf dem aktuellen Stand. Der Zugriff auf das umfangreiche Equipment ist dabei einzigartig, moderne Software-Programme sind selbstverständlich und die jeweils individuelle Anpassung ist unsere besondere Stärke. Mit unserer Erfahrung und kompetenten Partnern sind wir in der Lage, Ihnen ein Komplettangebot aus einer Hand zu bieten. Selbstverständlich unterstützen wir Sie aber auch mit einzelnen Dienstleistungen bei Ihren Projekten.

Beratung mit dem
Blick für Zusammenhänge

Wertvolle Erfahrungen aus der Blech- und Massivumformung fließen auch bei unseren Beratungsleistungen ein. Vielfach geht es um strategische Fragestellungen im Unternehmen, um die eigenen Potenziale voll auszuschöpfen. Das sind vor allem:

STEFAN LEYH, M.SC.
Stellvertr. Techn. Leiter,
Auftrags- und Projektmanagement


E-Mail: leyh@fgu-mbh.de

Telefonnummer: +49 711 22932416

PRODUCTS MADE BY FGU

Der Zugang zu Forschung verschafft uns gleichzeitig auch einen auch Vorsprung, wenn es um die Entwicklung von innovativen Produkten geht. So sind wir in der Lage, Forschungsergebnissen des Instituts für Umformtechnik der Universität Stuttgart direkt in unsere Produktentwicklung einfließen zu lassen und den aktuellen Stand der Wissenschaft für konkrete Anwendungen bei unseren Industriepartnern greifbar und nutzbar zu machen.

In der Umformtechnik spielt die Tribologie eine wichtige Rolle, da es während des Umformprozesses zur Relativbewegung zwischen Werkstück, Schmierung und Werkzeug kommt. Sowohl bei der simulativen Bauteilauslegung als auch beim späteren Produktionsprozess sind detaillierte Kenntnisse über das tribologische System erforderlich, um die gewünschte Qualität und Robustheit zu erzielen. Dennoch werden bei der Bauteilauslegung meist stark vereinfachte Modelle angenommen, um den hohen Versuchsaufwand mit teuren, großen, langsamen und immobilen Prüfständen zu vermeiden.

Mit SMARTµ hat die FGU ein innovatives Reibungsmessgerät entwickelt, das eine altbekannte Versuchsanordnung mit aktueller Technik und einer neuartigen Berechnungsgrundlage kombiniert. Die Basis für die Bestimmung der Reibungskoeffizienten bilden Beschleunigungsmessungen, die beim Rutschen über eine schiefe Ebene aufgezeichnet werden – ausschlaggebend sind Geschwindigkeit und Flächenpressung. So wird der Versuchsaufwand auf ein Minimum reduziert und große teure Prüfanlagen sind überflüssig. SMARTµ zeichnet sich zudem durch seine innovative, drahtlose Bedienung aus: Per App erfolgt die Anleitung Schritt für Schritt, um Reibungskoeffizienten schnell, einfach und mobil zu bestimmen.

Bleiben Sie up-to-date und tragen Sie sich in unseren Newsletter ein oder nehmen Sie direkt mit uns Kontakt auf, um den aktuellen Stand unserer Entwicklungen zu erfahren.

Die Anfälligkeit auf Prozessstörungen ist eine der großen Herausforderungen beim Tiefziehen, insbesondere bei komplexeren Geometrien. Neben der Schwierigkeit, das Werkzeug in einem kleinen Prozessfenster einzuarbeiten, führen häufig auch die Schwankungen von Materialeigenschaften des verwendeten Blechwerkstoffs zu Prozessabweichungen und haben hohen Ausschuss zur Folge. Mit dem Ziel, solche Schwankungen zu kompensieren, gibt es einige Ansätze zur Prozessregelung, die allerdings allesamt nicht während eines Pressenhubs in den Umformprozess selbst eingreifen. So läuft ein Bauteil in Bearbeitung immer Gefahr, außerhalb der tolerierten Werte zu liegen und Bauteilfehler wie Reißer, Falten oder Oberflächendefekte aufzuweisen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund und mit dem Wissen um die Problematik in der Praxis ist die Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik dabei, in enger Kooperation mit dem Institut für Umformtechnik der Universität Stuttgart einen neuen, innovativen Prozessregelansatz zu entwickeln. Die Einzigartigkeit dieser Produktneuheit besteht darin, dass der Werkstofffluss des Blechs bzw. der Platineneinlauf direkt beeinflusst werden kann. Die Innovation hierbei ist, dass die Regelgröße erstmals nicht der Platineneinlauf ist, sondern über Sensorsignale, die direkt im Bauteilbereich gemessen werden, definiert wird. Möglich wird die Closed-Loop-Regelung durch einen variablen Kraftnebenschluss, der während des Pressenhubs für eine kontrollierbare Flächenpressung zwischen Bauteil und Werkzeug sorgt. Dieser direkte Eingriff während des Pressenhubs verspricht einen robusteren Prozess, geringeren Ausschuss und eine höhere Bauteilqualität als bisher möglich.

Darüber hinaus soll sich das innovative Regelsystem durch ein weiteres Merkmal für die praktische Anwendung auszeichnen: Als modulares und integrierbares System in vorhandene Prozesse und Werkzeuge bietet die Prozessregelung enormes Optimierungspotenzial, um nachhaltige Produktionen und damit auch die Wirtschaftlichkeit zu steigern.

Bleiben Sie up-to-date und tragen Sie sich in unseren Newsletter ein oder nehmen Sie direkt mit uns Kontakt auf, um den aktuellen Entwicklungstand zu erfahren.

SCHULUNGSANGEBOT: WEITERBILDUNG & QUALIFIKATION FÜR
EINSTEIGER, UMSTEIGER, AUFSTEIGER

Als Partner für Industrieunternehmen bietet die Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik mit der Seminarreihe FormImpulse® ein komplettes Weiterbildungsprogramm für die schnelle Einarbeitung, einen guten Überblick über die Umformtechnik sowie die Vertiefung von Spezialwissen. Doch der ganzheitliche Anspruch geht darüber hinaus: Mit Schulungen und Coaching zu übergreifenden Bereichen zeigt sich bei den Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen Kompetenz auf drei Säulen:

stark mit starken partnern

Die Forschungsgesellschaft Umformtechnik mit der einzigartigen Nähe zum Universitätsinstitut hat den Anspruch, den Markt und die Zukunft mitzugestalten, wenn es um umformtechnische Herausforderungen geht. Dabei haben wir erkannt, dass wir in Kooperation mit ausgewählten Partnern und deren Kompetenzen das Leistungsniveau und auch das Angebot für unsere Kunden steigern können. Mit großem Respekt vor dem Know-how, der Expertise und der Qualität unserer Partner sind wir in der Lage, komplette Lösungen auch für komplexe Anforderungen zu bieten. Ein fairer Umgang, die Offenheit für neue Impulse sowie die Leidenschaft für neue Wege sind die Voraussetzungen für diese Art der Zusammenarbeit. Davon profitieren in hohem Maße wir selbst und selbstverständlich vor allem unsere Kunden.

Unsere verlässlichen Partner:

FMF WWF, CTK CAD und MEN AT WORK

KONTAKT

Forschungsgesellschaft
Umformtechnik mbH
Holzgartenstraße 17
70174 Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 (0) 711 / 229 324 0
Fax: +49 (0) 711 / 229 324 10
E-Mail: info@fgu-mbh.de